Sunday River Night light

I know I say this at the end of every school year, but this year I can honestly say was by far the busiest for me!  Usually I have a clear idea of what I am going to paint on my ARTirondak chair for the Mahoosuc Arts Coucnil.  It took me forever to decide this time around.

Any form of idea was lost to me.  I pondered long and hard about it.  I knew I wanted it to be a winter theme but when you live in a ski area you don’t want it to be to much of a cliche or too cheesy.  I love winter as you probably know by now.  I wanted my idea to clearly demonstrate what Winter and snow mean to me.

I think a lot of why I had such a hard time starting the project was because I had taken on a lot of new projects this year.  My annual art show was a new format and proved to be a success.  It was an exciting challenge that seemed to occupy most of my creative mind.  I think that is why I spent an month staring at my chair wondering what to do and how to do it.

As you can see, I finally figured out what to paint on the wooden canvas.  It was a scary endeavor that left me worried it wouldn’t look right.  When you spend half your life at a paticular place, decidng to paint it is scary.  I was so afraid I wouldn’t capture the mountain accurately or would offend someone.  As much as it is clearly Sunday River, I tried to add a little bit of whimsical features to it also.  The snowflakes on the arms were so fun to add and it stays true to my love for adding illustrative patterns.  My last two chairs have the same type of element on the arms.

I am so proud of these chairs.  I miss them but know they are being enjoyed by wonderful supporters of the Mahoosuc Arts Council.    I wonder who will be the lucky winner of the newest additon to my collection.

Loonie 2008

Height of Land 2009

IMG_0276IMG_0275IMG_0273IMG_0274

Leave a Reply

