A New Direction

I had painted this large canvas a few weeks back with greens and blues.  I wanted to explore different techniques that would create various textures.  I smeared glue on the surface and then let it dry a little before I painted on top of it.  It created a really fun crackling surface that you can see in the blue sky.  I also used some saran wrap to create some fun texture in the tree and grass.  After that, the painting sat by my door awaiting a spark of creativity from me.  It stared at me, I stared at it and we played this game until I finally had the courage to try painting something new.  I wanted to add something whimsical and very child like.  So I dove into my sketchbooks and found a drawing I had done last year of two kids.  It was very cartoon-like but I enjoyed the simplicity of my drawing.  So I added them into my painting and changed a few things to make the couple look a bit older.  I also wanted to add some fun owls in love perching in the tree.  I am pretty happy with the outcome.  I might work on the house a little more.  It doesn’t feel finished yet.  I am proud of myself for going in a different direction with my painting and adding in my love for illustration.  The use of acrylic paint and markers was a fun exploration!  Tell me what you think?

Leave a Reply

