SF/Oakland Day #2

Happy Thanksgiving!  It was a great day.  I was able to get plenty of rest last night.  I couldn’t keep my eyes open past 9pm pacific time and didn’t wake up until 6:30am.  Of course, even with the time difference, I refused to get up that early.

 

 

 

 

 

We all were up around the same time and started preparing appetizers and desserts for the Thanksgiving Feast at Ted and Rod’s.  I assisted in preparing the Pumpkin Pie and Apple/Cranberry Tart.   It was a fun time and I took more pictures then was necessary.  I kept saying, “I have to blog about this” every time we finished a step in the process.

 

 

 

After the fun tasks of baking, I was able to squeeze in a half hour of running on the treadmill.  Believe it or not, I was even smiling as I jogged away in place.  I simply couldn’t help but enjoy my view of the bay on the treadmill and the simple pleasures of preparing dishes with people I love.

 

 

 

 

When we arrived at Ted and Rod’s, I was awed by the wonderful home and breath-taking views they have looking out from the living room and deck.

The table was set up lavishly with a beautiful centerpiece with fall flowers, gourds, pumpkins, and candles.  The glassware reflected the gorgeous light from the sun.

 

 

The meal was delicious with many side dishes and tasty turkey.  Rod did a spectacular job preparing the meal.  I don’t think I could pick one favorite dish but the sweet potato wedges with a chili sauce was a great combination of tastes and my taste palette also loved the soup we had as a first course.

And the last picture is a view of our backdrop as we enjoyed our meal.  Dinner was followed by time spent in front of the fireplace enjoying the comfy atmosphere and full bellies.  Dessert was delish, and I was successful at following Juls pie-making directions.

A great day, spent with great people.  I am truly thankful!

Leave a Reply

