Get Your Paint On Week 1

I joined this online painting class called, Get Your Paint On.  I love it so far!  The course offers up inspiration from both artists’/teachers’ and tons of information about materials and subject matter.  There is even an artist interview thrown in to add another perspective.

This week we used Gee’s Bend Quilters from Alabama as inspiration.  I have always admired quilting for the craft but have never been very attracted to the designs….or so I thought.  I decided to start with my sketchbook and draft out some ideas.  I wasn’t sure how to work with blocks of color.  It seemed to simple for me….

I started just playing with my markers and colors I enjoyed.  After a bit of doodling, I started to play with the colors and how the shapes might layer each other to imply more shapes.  Of course, my sketches started to deviate from the original idea into more of a drawing idea.   Then, I decided to throw planning out the window.  It wasn’t working for me, I couldn’t translate any of my ideas onto paper with markers.

I decided to go back to the source of inspiration and look at more examples.  After exploring numerous images, I found myself loving the quilt designs that had many layers of shapes.  I was captivated by the way the space was manipulated with flat shapes of color.

I finally found the urge to paint some ideas.  I painted for a while and hated the first results.  I painted over my first attempt.  I was ok with it too, I have never had a tough time painting over an idea when it doesn’t work.  I gave up for the night and let my ideas stew in my head for a day.

We had a snow day on Wednesday and after finishing up report cards; I sat down and let my intuition kick in.  I painted some blue blocks.  I didn’t worry about perfect lines, I just let them form together on the panel.  I then painted coral colored shapes on top; allowing the blue shapes to peak through.   And then I added white shapes and scratched into the paint to add a drawing element.

Over all, I am very happy with it.  I might re-visit the painting and add something else to it.  For now, I am happy with the blocks of color and the layering.

Leave a Reply

